Supporting The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail
Supporting The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail

Trail Maps & Databases
The Story




Trail segment along the Northern Route at Pea Ridge National Military Park in northwestern Arkansas. The wayside exhibits overlooking the Arkansas River at Fort Smith National Historic Site, located on the Water Route in western Arkansas, depict in 5 individual panels the removal stories of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations. The award-winning Trail of Tears exhibit at the Cherokee Heritage Center in Tahlequah, OK, includes a tactile "bead wall," with each bead representing one removed Cherokee, totaling 16,000 beads. Also, life-cast figures depict the travel along the Trail of Tears.

Trail of Tears Association
National Board of Directors


PRESIDENT
Jack Baker*
JackDBaker@cox.net

VICE PRESIDENT
Troy Wayne Poteete*
troywaynepoteete@gmail.com

PAST PRESIDENT
Riley Bock*

SECRETARY
Patsy Edgar*
edgpj@aol.com

TREASURER
John McLarty*
jmclarty@nwarpc.org

AT-LARGE

Brett Riggs
bhriggs@email.unc.edu

Deborah Kirk
deborah.kirk@hotmail.com

CHEROKEE NATION
Troy Wayne Poteete
(See Vice President)

CHICKASAW NATION
Regina Berna
regina.berna@chickasaw.net

CHOCTAW NATION
Sue Folsom*
suefolsom@choctawnation.com

EASTERN BAND OF CHEROKEE INDIANS
Russell Townsend
RussellT@nc-cherokee.com

MUSCOGEE (CREEK) NATION
Edwin Marshall
emarshall@mcn-nsn.gov

ALABAMA
Larry Smith
tugstermeister@aol.com

Marty King
marty-king@hotmail.com

ARKANSAS
Glenn Jones
gjsooner@aol.com

GEORGIA
Jeff Bishop
wjeffbishop@yahoo.com

Dola Davis
wddavis1937@windstream.net

ILLINOIS
Rowena McClinton
rmcclin@siue.edu

John O’Dell
jodell@shawneetourism.com

KENTUCKY
Alice Murphree
amurphree1139@bellsouth.net

MISSOURI
Denise Dowling
denise.dowling@dnr.mo.gov

Deloris Wood
lostgeneration@embarqmail.com

NORTH CAROLINA
Ginger Abernathy

Anne Rogers
rogers@email.wcu.edu

OKLAHOMA
Curtis Rohr
clrfnr58@yahoo.com

Marybelle Chase
mchase15@cox.net

TENNESSEE
Cleata Townsend
humanbeing_2@hotmail.com

Wally Leary
wjleary@gmail.com




* denotes executive committee member


1100 North University, Suite 143
Little Rock, AR 72207
Phone: (501) 666-9032
Fax: (501) 666-5875
E-mail: TOTA@arindianctr.org


General Information | Trail Maps & Databases | "The Story" | Newsletters | Certified Trail Sites | Membership Information
Home
Web Services by Aristotle Web Design.
History Home Arkansas State Parks Maps & Directions Arkansas State Parks